Firefighter’s Poem

He stares in the face of death without a second thought, to save that one special life that he so bravely sought. He has walked as close to “hell on earth” as any man could do, and he’s so proud of the job he did for people he never knew. He puts his life on the line every time duty calls, always doing what needs to be done without even a pause. He is a fireman with overwhelming pride, never afraid to take a chance when saving someone’s life. Often, he says, “it’s my job” but we really know that he is very special and always ready to go. So, when you hear the sirens wail or see the flashing lights, stand aside and look with pride…he is going to save a life.

Timothy Nelson (Retired FF-PM) – Tuesday, December 12, 2023

Mark Racinowski (Retired Engineer) – Monday, November 27, 2023 

Milton Davenport (Retired Captain-EMT) – Tuesday, November 14, 2023 

Joseph Furlong (Retired Member) – Tuesday, November 7, 2023 

John J. Spiekerman (Retired Member, FF/E-124) – Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Donald P. Schmidt (Retired 69 Year Member, E-37 & E-58) – Saturday, September 2, 2023

Edwin J. Smith (Retired Capt./T-22) – Saturday, September 2, 2023

LODD Kevin P. Ward (Active Member, LT-EMT/T-9) – Monday, August 28, 2023

Brian M. Anderson (Retired Member FF/E-92) – Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Ronald A. Wonsowicz (Retired Eng./6-5-5) – Tuesday, August 8, 2023

Arthur Pincsak (Retired 64 Year Member, FF/T-23) – Sunday, August 6, 2023

Wilbert B. Hayes (Eng.-EMT) – Sunday, July 30, 2023

Stephen Stapleton (Retired Eng.) – Wednesday, July 26, 2023 

John J. Brennan (Retired Eng.) – Wednesday, July 26, 2023

Robert J. Love III (Capt.) – Wednesday, July 19, 2023.

Kevin J. Fitzpatrick (Retired Eng.) – Friday, July 14, 2023

Darren J. Verderber (Active Member, FF-EMT/SQD-5) – Thursday, July 6, 2023

Daniel J. Callahan (Retired BC) – Wednesday, July 5, 2023

Kevin P. O’Malley (Retired 58 Year Member, ENG/E-77) – Tuesday, July 4, 2023

Robert G. Malec (Retired 43 Year Member) – Tuesday, July 4, 2023

John W. Rae (Retired Capt.) – Sunday, July 2, 2023

Jay L. Klasek (Retired 25 Year Member, Eng./E-29) – Sunday, June 18, 2023

Walter W. Gales (Retired 52 Year Member) – Thursday, June 15, 2023 

James D. Considine (Retired 49 Year Member) – Thursday, June 15, 2023 

Vernon Ingram (Retired Capt./E-70) – Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Patrick J. Healy (Retired Member, LT/TL-21) – Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Jason P. Ramirez (Active Member, FF-EMT/T-52) – Sunday, May 14, 2023

Daniel S. Wilson (Active Member, FF-EMT/E-10) – Saturday, May 13, 2023

Timothy J. Koertgen (Capt./T-48) – Friday, April 28, 2023 

Edward M. O’Connor (Retired 39 Year Member, Eng./E-89) – Tuesday, April 18, 2023 

William Duszynski (Retired Eng.) – Friday, April 14, 2023

LODD Jan M. Tchoryk (Active Member, LT-EMT/T-10) – Wednesday, April 5, 2023

Randall “Randy” W. Walz (Capt./E-79) – Wednesday, April 5, 2023

Patrick “Tom” Purdy (60 Year Member, Retired LT) – Tuesday, April 4, 2023

LODD Jermaine A. Pelt (Active Member, FF-EMT/E-75) – Tuesday, April 4, 2023 

Richard G. Groves (FF/E-110) – Monday, April 3, 2023

James W. Syler (Retired Capt./T-11) – Sunday, April 2, 2023

William “Bill” L. Kugelman (67 Year Retired BC and Past President of Local 2) – Friday, March 31, 2023

Eugene C. Kulma (Retired 57 Year Member, FF/T60) – Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Thomas L. Black (Eng./5th-D Manpower) – Saturday, March 25, 2023

William J. Mahoney (U.S. Army Veteran, Retired LT.) – Monday, March 20, 2023

Peter M. Eck (Capt./T-38)Saturday, March 18, 2023 

Francis M. Craven (Capt./E-106) – Tuesday, March 7, 2023

Michael F. Murphy (Retired 42 Year Member) – Thursday, March 2, 2023

Francis E. Mullally (BC/Batt-5) – Sunday, February 19, 2023

John T. Maher (Retired 64 Year Member) – Saturday, February 18, 2023

James M. Sullivan (Retired 55 Year Member, E-32) – February 16, 2023

Constantinos “Casey” Cokkinias (FF/E-11) – Friday, February 10, 2023

Cedric L. Bullard (Retired 25 Year Member, FPM) – Sunday, February 5, 2023

Jordan E. McDermott (FPM/E-10) – Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Michael J. Shanahan (LT/E-126) – Wednesday, January 25, 2023

Aaron D. Buckley (FPM/A-51) – Thursday, January 19, 2023

John F. Barrett (Capt./E-43) – Wednesday, January 18, 2023

Daniel G. Draper (Capt.-EMT/E-22) – Wednesday, January 18, 2023

John A. Tumpich (Capt./Bat-23) – Tuesday, January 17, 2023 

Edward A. Porter (Capt./Bat-23) Tuesday, January 17, 2023 

Kathleen A. Corbett (FF/E-104) – Sunday, January 15, 2023

Jack A. Lumsden (Retired 50-Yr Member) January 13, 2023

Timothy J. Fitzgerald (LT./T-33) – January 9, 2023

Michael J. Cahill (Capt./TL-5) – Saturday, December 24, 2022

Anthony R. Bedalow (Capt./T-44) – Thursday, November 30, 2022

Jesse E. Warfield (FF/E-4) – Sunday, November 27, 2022 

Frederick A. Viverito (Capt./O’Hare) – Saturday, November 26, 2022

Mike J. Sullivan, Sr. (Retired 57 Year Member, FF) – Monday, November 21, 2022 

Donald B. Salzman (LT./E-84) – Sunday, November 20, 2022

Edward F. Freemon (Capt.) – Tuesday, November 15, 2022

Michael A. Carbone (DDC) – Sunday, November 13, 2022

Theodore Dolibois, Jr. (ENG./E-71) – Friday, November 11, 2022

Daniel R. Orseske (Retired 56 Year Member, Eng./E-127) – Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Edward L. Wilbur (ENG./E-129) – November 2022

Fred A. Van Dorpe (Retired 63 Year Member) – Saturday, November 5, 2022

James R. O’Brien (Retired 71 Year Member) – Monday, October 31, 2022

Patrick A. Wietlispach (Retired 42 Year Member) – Thursday, October 20, 2022

William J. Howe (LT./E-92) – Wednesday, October 19, 2022

Steven M. Zambello (Retired 42-Year Member, FC, 4th Dist.) – September 2022

Dennis J. Cahill (Retired 42-Year Member) Thursday, September 15, 2022

Edward J. Schubert (LT, T-22) – Thursday, September 8, 2022

Francis J. Chambers (BC, Bat-10) Thursday, September 8, 2022

Steven M. Zambello (FC, 4th-D) – Saturday, September 3, 2022

Nancy T. Gill (Retired 39 Year Member, PIC)Thursday, September 1, 2022

Robert P. Cavanaugh (Retired 63 Year Member)Saturday, August 27, 2022

Richard W. Bueschel (ENG, E-47)Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Thomas P. Anderson (LT, FPB)Sunday, August 21, 2022

Lawrence Mahler (Capt./E-119)Monday, August 8, 2022

Peter S. Biondo (LT, TL-54) – Sunday, July 31, 2022

George W. Beary (Retired 55 Year Member, Eng.) – Saturday, July 30, 2022 

Nicholas C. Russel (Deputy Fire Commissioner, Retired 40 Year Member) – Friday, July 29, 2022

Pierce J. Buckley (Retired 62 Year Member) – Saturday, July 16, 2022

Bob Reynolds (Retired Member, President of the Chicago Firefighters Credit Union) – Tuesday, July 12, 2022

Thomas E. Hughes (Retired 48 Year Member) – Friday, July 8, 2022

Nicholas A. Tragos (Retired 59 Year Member) – Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Scott White (LT, ENG-104) – Saturday, June 25, 2022

Michael W. Goewey (FF, ENG-95) – Friday, June 24, 2022 

Frank T. Coppolillo (Capt., TRK-7) – Friday, June 24, 2022 

Robert P. Zeutschel (Eng., ENG-22) – Wednesday, June 22, 2022

John H. Bahwell (Retired 51 Year Member) – Saturday, June 18, 2022

Timothy A. Eiland (FF-EMT, ENG-121) – Monday, June 13, 2022

Kevin J. Doherty (Retired 54 Year Member, Capt./ENG-68) – Saturday, June 4, 2022

Kevin A. Fitzpatrick (Active Member, TRK-45) – Monday, May 30, 2022

Timothy A. Biel (FF-EMT, Retired 40 Year Member) – Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Thomas F. O’Hara (LT, Retired 40 Year Member) – Monday, April 25, 2022

Raymond C. Riordan (LT, Retired 40 Year Member) – Friday, April 22, 2022

Lawrence H. Daniels (CAPT, TRK-65) – Sunday, April 17, 2022

Joseph A. Scheibenreif (ENG, ENG-95) – Sunday, April 17, 2022

Robert E. Wood (63 Year Retired Member) – Saturday, April 16, 2022

Thomas J. Cunnane (FF-ENG38) – Saturday, April 9, 2022

Donald R. Ranos (LT) – Friday. April 8, 2022

Kevin J. Allen (LT, ENG-59. Retired 53 Year Member) – Thursday, April 7, 2022

William P. Lynch (Retired 40 Year Member) – Wednesday, April 6, 2022

Joseph Felicicchia (FF-ENG63) – Sunday, March 20, 2022

Robert J. Brown, Jr. (CAPT, E-64) – Saturday, March 19, 2022

Robert C. Walsh (CAPT, T-30) – Monday, March 14, 2022

Patrick Mullaghy (LT, E-7) – Tuesday, March 8, 2022

Karla N. Harkness (PIC/A-60) – Saturday, March 5, 2022

Harold G. Denis (FF, ASR) – Monday. February 28, 2022

Scott R. Achtel (FF-EMT) – Sunday, February 27, 2022

Charles C. Bailey (LT, E-10) – Sunday, February 27, 2022

John Stain (FF) – Wednesday, February 23, 2022

Frank V. Supergan (66 Year Retired Member) – Wednesday, February 23, 2022

Charles E. Conrad (BC, 3rd Batt) – Monday, February 21, 2022

John J. Rzonca (FF, E-74) – Monday, February 21, 2022

James B. Cummings (FF-EMT) – Friday, February 18, 2022

Frank Saitta (LT, O’HARE) – Thursday, February 17, 2022

Thomas J. Jacques (FF, E-28) – Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Lawrence Guzick – Monday, February 7, 2022

William H. Gade, Sr. (Eng., E-23) – Sunday, February 6, 2022

Boyce R. Coleman, II (FF, E-122) – Wednesday, February 2, 2022

Richard J. Sturm (FF, E-84) – Sunday, January 30, 2022

Lawrence Guzick (ENG, E-49) – Friday, January 28, 2022

George S. Polson (LT, Retired 41 Year Member) – Thursday, January 20, 2022

Michael Sheehan (FF, E-39) – Thursday, January 20, 2022

Robert J. Negoski (ENG, E-28) – Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Gregory S. Fox (PIC, AMB-39) – Sunday, January 16, 2022

Lester A. Johnson (40 Year Member) – Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Anthony P. Gusich (BC, 16th Batt) – Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Lawrence A. Haynes (FF, E-80) – Monday, January 10, 2022

Daniel F. Zoller (Active FF, T-62) – Sunday, January 9, 2022

Lawrence K. Doody (FF-E-75) – Sunday, December 26, 2021

Daniel T. Lanham (FF, E-109) – Sunday, December 26, 2021

Brian O’Shea (FF, E-112) – Saturday, December 25, 2021

Charles E. James (LT, E-80) – Saturday, December 25, 2021

LODD MaShawn J. Plummer (Active Member, FF-EMT/E-94) – Tuesday, December 21, 2022

Ronald Regan (Capt.-EMT) – Sunday, December 19, 2021

Michael G. Noonan (FF, T-31) – Sunday, December 12, 2021

William L. Blake (LT, T-31) – Thursday, December 9, 2021

Morris F. Davis (Retired 40 Year Member) – Thursday, December 2, 2021

Dennis J. Sullivan (Eng., E47) – Sunday, November 28, 2021

Michael T. Lally (Capt./T-58) – Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Ricky Matthews (EMT-LT/E-80) – Monday, November 22, 2021

Richard J. Ternes (LT, T-52) – Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Bruce A. Nagel (Retired 40 Year Member) – Monday, November 15, 2021

Howard G. Rimm (Eng., E-124) – Monday, November 15, 2021

James J. Ellis, Jr. (FF, FPB) – Sunday, November 14, 2021

Edward G. Witowski (Eng., E-11) – November 9, 2021

Dwayne E. Tracy (FPM, 5th Dist) – November 5, 2021

Rudy L. Aguirre (PIC) – November 2, 2021

Henry Lucas (PIC, HDQTS) – November 2, 2021

Mark S. Zapiler (EMT-CAPT, E-86) – November 1, 2021

Mitchell Melnyczuk (40 Year Member) – November 1, 2021

John J. Shanahan (Eng./E-39) – October 30, 2021

Walter J. Schwartz (FF, T-55) – October 19, 2021

Eugene T. Merda (BC, 12th Batt) – October 16, 2021

Thomas M. Mate (Eng./ E-13) – October 16, 2021

John M. Sheridan (FF-EMT) – October 13, 2021

Michael R. Pickering (FPM) – October 8, 2021

Melvin Stubinger (40 Year Member) – October 4, 2021

Julius A. Loffredo – (Eng./E-84) – September 26, 2021

Michael P. Gallagher (FF, T-57) – September 21, 2021

Rudolph F. Schlecht (LT, TL-21) – September 21, 2021

James P. Healy (FF, E-11) – September 20, 2021

James P. Byrne (LT-EMT, 5th Dist. Relief) – September 19, 2021

Raymond L. Adams (Eng./ E-14) – September 16, 2021

Earnest Willingham (FF, T-24) – September 16, 2021

Peter J. Clemente (FF Air Mask) – September 15, 2021

Kenneth J. Brown (CAPT, E-23) – September 15, 2021

Kevin P. Barry (FC, HDQTS Relief) – September 9, 2021

Donald J. Bryla (Assistant Deputy Chief Paramedic) – September 9, 2021

Lawrence J. Bruton (FF) – September 5, 2021

Lewis L. Buick (FF) – September 5, 2021

Gary Powell (Eng./E-73) – September 4, 2021

Patrick J. McDonough (LT, 3rd Dist) – August 28, 2021

Harry Demopoulos (Eng./E-79) – August 25, 2021

Lawrence J. Lonergan (CAPT, T-62) – August 20, 2021

Joseph Braje (Eng./E-34) – August 19, 2021

Gregory M. Frain (FF, E-95) – August 19, 2021

Richard Julkowski (FF, ASR) – August 18, 2021

Patrick Freeman (LT, E-4) – August 15, 2021

Dennis M. Mulligan (FF, E-64) – August 15, 2021

Frank R. Kramarski (FF, H&L63) – August 13, 2021

John J. Mullaghy (CAPT, FPB) – August 13, 2021

Eugene C. Herman (LT, FPB) – August 13, 2021

Thomas J. O’Connell, Jr. (LT, FPB) – August 10, 2021

Thomas F. Markham (LT, T-38) – August 6, 2021

Norman C. Smith (LT, T-62) – August 3, 2021

Raymond J. Wenholz (FF-EMT, E-79) – July 30, 2021

August P. Malatia (Eng./E-68) – July 27, 2021

Harold J. Thompson (Eng./E-77) – July 11, 2021

Robert A. Koujourian (13th Batt) – July 11, 2021

William M. Kenney (LT, T-2) – July 7, 2021

Edward J. Long (Eng./ O’Hare, E-10) – July 4, 2021

Alvin Wilks, Jr. (FF, MDWY) – July 3, 2021

Walter H. Steinle (BC, 6th Batt) – June 26, 2021

Gordon W. Grand Pre (LT, FPB) – June 20, 2021

Robert P. Gonyo (Eng./E-69) – June 13, 2021

Thomas L. Ogden (Eng./E-65) – June 9, 2021

Frederick D. Brance (FF-EMT, E-4) – June 8, 2021

Terrence J. O’Brien (BC, 19th Batt) – June 7, 2021

Joseph M. Rapnikas (FF, E-8) – May 31, 2021

M.R. Henderson (FF, 2-7-1) – May 24, 2021

Roberto Herrera (FF, T-32) – May 22, 2021

James F. Dosenbach (Capt., T-58) – May 21, 2021

Michael A. Schubert (FF, E-75) – May 20, 2021

Kenneth J. Fuerst (FF, T-63) – May 9, 2021

George A. Bailey, Jr. (Capt./T-52) – April 26, 2021

Kenneth L. Purcell (LT, E-65) – April 18, 2021

William “Oogie” Janisch (FF, T-26 & Local 2 BA) – April 16, 2021

Thomas P. Schweig (LT/E-112) – April 4, 2021

James J. Fitzgibbons (FF/T-60) – March 23, 2021

Anthony J. Heneghan (ENG/E-76) – March 23, 2021

Donald Burke (Capt./E-22) – March 20, 2021

Louis H. O’Donnell (Eng./E-121 & E-104) – March 19, 2021

Gerald M. Peck (BC, 21st-Batt) – March 19, 2021

Dennis R. Klabish (FF/E-32) – March 17, 2021

Carlos J. Martinez (AC/A-11) – March 13, 2021

Vanness Simmons (FF/E-8) – March 12, 2021

Thomas D. Kiwanis, Sr. (ENG/E-121) – March 3, 2021

Wilma Williams-Lennear (FF/FPB) – March 2, 2021

Michael C. O’Donnell (FF, E-67) – February 25, 2021

Thomas M. Kirkpatrick (FF/E-83) – February 22, 2021

Edward J. Hastings (LT/H&L 14) – February 17, 2021

John J. Lynch (FF/E-79) – February 17, 2021

James G. Kowal (Eng./E-46) – February 10, 2021

Richard A. Chapin (LT/T-4) – February 4, 2021

Victor G. Kostecki (FF/T-44) – February 2, 2021

Williams F. Vaci (FF/T-4) – January 31, 2021

Charles P. Boyd (LT/T-58) – January 26, 2021

Vincent J. Zajdzinski (LT/ E-42) – January 23, 2021

Keith C. Bozenda (BC/18th Batt) – January 20, 2021

Victor P. Swenson (Retired 40 Year Member) – January 14, 2021

Paul F. Seelentag (FF/Air Mask) – January 11, 2021

Ted Kozak (FF/E-71) – January 6, 2021

Raymond J. Bronke (Capt./E-64) – January 5, 2021

Merlin C. Decker (Eng./E-119) – January 4, 2021

Paul R. Goralka (LT/T-60) – January 2, 2021